A tech tool designed according to the “Privacy by Design” principle

Priority given to the protection of persons

As all sectors are poised to tap into personal data’s potency as a source of income, the volumes of which have increased tenfold with the exponential rise of Big Data, the GDPR has turned the monetization of information upside down. No company or platform exploiting data can escape these strict rules for processing it, which came into effect on May 25, 2018.

With this new regulation, the European Union aims to protect individuals at a time when their personal data is potentially worth more than gold to companies.

Data use subject to strict regulations

The CNIL (France’s national data protection agency) sums up the GDPR’s three main objectives :

  1. To protect and strengthen the rights of individuals, particularly through the creation of a right to data portability as well as provisions specifically aimed at minors;

  2. To hold data processors (data controllers and processors) accountable;

  3. To enhance cooperation between data protection authorities, who can make joint decisions when data processing is transnational and can impose stronger sanctions in case of violations.

By making companies who collect personal information responsible for the protection of all personal data, the GDPR switches up the rules.

By reinforcing existing sanctions and adding new ones, the European authorities are sending “a strong signal to show everyone that data protection is now an important issue – one that must be made a priority by all companies,” stresses Isabelle Falque-Pierrotin, President of the CNIL.

Reasonable and responsible data management is therefore, more than ever, a primary concern. As is accountability.

notify’s response

As a marketing technology platform, notify’s offer is based on smart data management. By cross-referencing the MD5 and SHA 256 hashed data of our clients’ databases with those of our media partners, notify enables messages to be delivered to the customer when he or she is connected, and therefore available. This timely solicitation drives open rates up to 78% and significantly increases conversion rates.

To guarantee our compliance as well as the compliance of our clients, notify has outlined an 8-point action plan:

  • Double consent of the customer: the prospect or customer must explicitly give his/her consent to be solicited twice, first by opting-in to the message sent by the brand (a voluntary act), then again with the media platform.

  • Data is retained for a maximum of 90 days.

  • Privacy by design is respected: Only the information necessary to deliver the real-time notification service is collected.

  • Personal data is hashed out in MD5 and SHA 256 format.

  • An external Chief Privacy Officer oversees everything and acts as liaison with our clients and partners to guarantee the correct processing of personal data.

  • We’re ISO 270001 certified.

  • We conduct regular audits of our media partners’ T&Cs to ensure compliance with legal standards.

  • Right to be forgotten: the customer can at any time ask to no longer benefit from the real- time service. Thanks to this comprehensive plan, notify guarantees responsible processing of all collected data.

Confidentiality, a competitive advantage?

Admittedly, the implementation of the GDPR’s new provisions is a trying one, and many see it as a threat to the competitiveness of European companies compared to their American or Chinese counterparts.

However, the perspective can and should be reversed. In a world where citizens are increasingly concerned about the protection of their privacy, we can imagine that, tomorrow, only those players who have succeeded in establishing a trusting, transparent and respectful dialogue will be able to build customer loyalty.

Une technologie pensée selon le principe du « Privacy by Design »

Priorité à la protection des personnes

Alors que tous les secteurs abordaient l’exploitation des données comme une source de revenu décuplé par le Big Data, le RGPD est venu bouleverser la monétisation des informations. Aucune entreprise ou plateforme exploitant des données ne peut se dérober à cette régulation de la gestion des données, entrée en vigueur le 25 mai 2018. À travers ce nouveau règlement, l’objectif des institutions européennes est clair : protéger lespersonnes, au moment où leurs données personnelles deviennent une véritable manne.

Exploitation des données soumise à une règlementation stricte

La CNIL résume les 3 grands principes du RGPD :

  1. Renforcer les droits des personnes, notamment par la création d’un droit à la portabilité des données personnelles et de dispositions propres aux personnes mineures ;
  2. Responsabiliser les acteurs traitant des données (responsables de traitement et sous-traitants) ;
  3. Crédibiliser la régulation grâce à une coopération renforcée entre les autorités de protection des données, qui pourront notamment adopter des décisions communes lorsque les traitements de données seront transnationaux et des sanctions renforcées.

En attribuant aux entreprises qui collectent les informations la responsabilité de la protection des données personnelles, le RGPD change les règles

Dans le même temps, les autorités ont renforcé leurs sanctions, « un signal fort qui montre à tout le monde que la protection des données est désormais un enjeu important qui doit remonter dans les préoccupations des entreprises » souligne Isabelle Falque-Pierrotin, Présidente de la CNIL.

La gestion responsable des données est donc, plus que jamais, une priorité…

La réponse de Notify au RGPD

Notify est une plateforme de marketing technology, qui a construit son offre sur la gestion des données.

En croisant les bases de données hachées en MD5 et SHA 256, de ses marques clientes avec celles de ses partenaires média, Notify permet de délivrer le message au consommateur lorsque celui-ci est connecté, et donc disponible. Cette sollicitation au bon moment entraîne une augmentation jusqu’à 78% des taux d’ouverture des messages… et une croissance significative du taux de conversion.

Afin de garantir sa conformité et celle de ses marques clients au RGPD, Notify s’est engagée depuis plusieurs mois dans un plan d’actions en 8 points :

  • Le double consentement du consommateur : celui-ci doit signifier à deux reprises son acceptation d’être sollicité, d’abord auprès de la marque à travers un opt-in (donc un acte volontaire), puis auprès de la plateforme média.
  • Une conservation des données limitée à 90 jours maximum
  • Le « privacy by design » : seules sont collectées les informations nécessaires pour délivrer leservice temps-réel de Notify
  • Le hachage des données personnelles sous format MD5 et SHA 256
  • L’accompagnement d’un CPO ou Chief Privacy Officer externe, afin de garantir le bon traitement des données personnelles
  • Une certification ISO 270001 dont le process est en cours de finalisation
  • L’audit régulier des CGU des partenaires média, pour en vérifier la conformité aux normes légales
  • Le droit à l’oubli : le consommateur peut à tout moment demander à ne plus bénéficier du service temps-réel.
La confidentialité, un avantage concurrentiel ?

Certes la mise en place des nouvelles dispositions prévues par le RGPD est exigeante, et certains y voient une menace pour la compétitivité des entreprises européennes par rapport à des concurrents américains ou chinois.

Mais le point de vue peut s’inverser, et la confidentialité devenir au contraire un avantage concurrentiel.

Dans un monde où les consommateurs se montrent de plus en plus soucieux de la protection de leur vie privée, on peut imaginer que, demain, seuls les acteurs ayant réussi à établir un dialogue de confiance, transparent et respectueux sauront les fidéliser la clientèle.